Good News, Everyone!

I have my first actually-in-a-book-made-of-paper-got-paid-for-it-‘n’-all-publication!

It’s not Nocturn. No, the world isn’t quite ready for that one just yet 😉 But my journey to the lofty heights of writerdom is underway and, like most things in life, it starts with a bit of zombie erotica.

Hold up – what?

Okay, let’s backtrack a little. A few weeks back I mentioned that I’d come up with what I thought was the best piece of poetic writing I’ve ever done. Well, turns out a few other people think it’s not all that bad either, and so the piece has made its way into Rigor Amortis, an anthology of zombie sex, horror, and for my part at least, wry comedy. ‘There’s Plenty of Room in my Heart’ (such is the title)  tugs – hungrily – at the old heartstrings, and ponders whether love can conquer the occasional over-enthusiastic love-bite and the odd bit of exposed viscera. ‘Tis a charming tale!

More details as and when the date of publication approaches, but there we have it – no longer just a writer, but an author. How about that, eh? 😀

Tags: , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Good News, Everyone!”

  1. Ken Kiser Says:

    Damn… now I don’t even have the “in-print” one-up on you…

    Guess, I’ll have to acknowledge you as an equal now. Bummer. I guess it’s time for me to go find some new loser friends to surround myself with so I can feel good about myself again.

    😛

  2. Shadow Says:

    Cut it out you two.

    Congratulations Alex! Glad you got in. I tried, but my was not Rigor Amortis worthy. (However it has promise in other venues!)

    I look forward to the anthology.

    and btw are you looking into the Cthulhurotica anthology http://www.cthulhurotica.com/ and the Retroactive http://www.rawdogscreaming.com/retrospective#contest

    • Alex Masterson Says:

      Thanks Sarah, I’m sorry to hear your piece didn’t make it – but it sounds like it’s not quite dead n’ buried yet!

      I did stumble across that Cthulhurotica anthology; I have a lot of respect for Lovecraft’s mythos though, and I don’t think I really like the idea of ‘sullying’ it with wierd couplings and slash-fiction silliness, if you know what I mean!

      The RDSP contest does sound interesting, I’ll run it through the ol’ grinder and see what comes out.

  3. Carrie Cuinn Says:

    As the editor of Cthulhurotica, I’m sorry to hear that you think it’d be “wierd couplings and slash-fiction silliness.” Lovecraft, though in many other ways a genius, chose to leave the question of sexuality almost entirely out of his work. We’re looking to expand the mythos and add a level of dimensionality. It seems a shame to leave the mythos as a white-male-dominated collection of tales when it could be updated with elements of our modern society. Surely it makes sense to have characters, now, who are people of color, women, GLBT, or a combination of the above? And if that’s acceptable, why not allow writers to explore the relationships between the men and women (and whatever else) of Lovecraft’s universe?

    After all, we’re often attracted most to what scares us the most. Our anthology will feature stories that tackle the boundaries of a place where sex and madness meet.

    Check out this interview at Innsmouth Free Press: http://www.innsmouthfreepress.com/?s=cthulhurotica

    Another interview, focusing more on the intellectual foundations of the anthology, will be up at Writers News Weekly on August 11 – http://www.writersnewsweekly.com/

    • Carrie Cuinn Says:

      Oh, and I forgot to mention that we share a TOC. A story of mine, “Mitch’s Girl” appears in RIGOR AMORTIS too. Congratulations on that 🙂

      • Alex Masterson Says:

        Hi Carrie. My comments weren’t intended to be directed at the anthology itself.

        If I tried to approach the Lovecraft mythos for Cthulhurotica, I would end up writing something ridiculous and parodical, because I am completely incapable of writing a serious take on amorous / sexual situations between two people, never mind applying it to the Cthulhu universe (although I appreciate what your goals are with the anthology). It’s just how I write.

        With my Rigor Amortis piece, I could comfortably use a slash-esque, parodical style, because zombies don’t hold a particular significance to me, or any specific work. They are a concept; a tool. On the flipside, I love Lovecraft’s work so much that by doing something similar, I would spoil the mystique and atmosphere his writing holds for myself.

        I hope that’s a bit clearer – I really wish you all the best with getting it together, and send dark looks and jealous rage in the direction of your contributors for their writing skills 😉

        And thanks – congratulations yourself on the RA spot! I look forward to giving your piece a read!

  4. Amber Says:

    Alex I’m sooo happy for you! I knew it would happen, it was only a matter of time. Congrats to the enth degree old friend! Oh, I’m so happy! Mind if I party on your behalf?
    Sweet!

  5. Simonne Says:

    Woot! That’s great Alex, congrats 🙂

Leave a comment