Alex stumbles through the looking glass

and he’s not a pretty sight. If somebody ever said that staring at a monitor is much preferable to looking into a mirror, they’d be right. Here I am posting a blog though, so guns loaded people; we’re in digital metaphor country!

But what’s yon beastie scuttling through the bushes? Ah hypocrisy, good to see you old chum. I was never hot on the idea of blogging, which always seemed, in my experience, a medium for people with either nothing better to do, a misjudged sense of self-importance, or something to promote, and now that I’m here, well…

Hm.

Let’s just leave him where he is in the undergrowth, shall we? He looks happy down there. Moving on…

It’s safe to say this page is looking pretty sparse while I figure out all the bits and pieces, but I’ll have a mess around and see what useful stuff I can figure out. After all, I have nothing better to do, an ego to massage and something that needs promoting, right? So I’d hate to let the blogging massive down. ¬_¬

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Alex stumbles through the looking glass”

  1. Ken Kiser Says:

    If nothing else, this will give you a place to promote your work and make failure a more embarrassing prospect. That might just be enough to keep you chasing that dream.

    Needless to say, I’ll be a regular reader! 😀

    • Alex Masterson Says:

      Quite so mate, nothing like self-inflicted fear tactics to keep the motivation going! 😀

  2. Andrew Says:

    RAWR!

  3. Jaym Gates Says:

    Welcome! If you have any questions, let me know, I’ve been using WordPress for a while now.

    • Alex Masterson Says:

      Cheers morn, no doubt I’ll think of something!

      Actually yeah, here we go: how do I add you guys to the blogroll?

  4. Ken Kiser Says:

    Another tip, take it or leave it.

    Since you are on the WordPress server, your Tags and Categories will cross-reference with others with like interests on WordPress.

    In short, if you take the time to visit the sites of other writers and leave the occasional comment, you will get the links and return traffic you need to build a large readership.

    On the other hand, I’m quite enjoying my new readership of zero since I removed myself from the public servers. Perhaps I’ll get out there soon and start promoting my new site so people can find me. Your link to my new site was an important first step I suppose.

Leave a Reply

